Shadab to captain Pakistan against Afghanistan in Sharjah T20I series

LAHORE (Balochistan Times) - With one eye on the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 and the other on ensuring the careers of their elite cricketers are extended by strategically managing their workloads, the Pakistan cricket selectors today named a new-look and highly-talented 15-player squad for the three-match T20I series against Afghanistan, which will be played from March 24 to 27 in Sharjah.

All-rounder Shadab Khan will captain the side that includes four uncapped players, namely, Ihsanullah, Saim Ayub, Tayyab Tahir and Zaman Khan, while Abdullah Shafique, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf and Imad Wasim have been recalled.

Pakistan captain Babar Azam, along with Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Muhammad Rizwan and Shaheen Shah Afridi have been rested, while Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Muhammad Hasnain and Khushdil Shah have been dropped. These nine players were part of the Pakistan squad that reached the final of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia.

Apart from the Shadab, players retained from the last T20I series are: Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Muhammad Wasim Junior, Naseem Shah and Shan Masood.

Pakistan squad: Shadab Khan (captain, Islamabad United); Abdullah Shafique (Lahore Qalandars); Azam Khan (Islamabad United); Faheem Ashraf (Islamabad United); Iftikhar Ahmed (Quetta Gladiators); Ihsanullah (Multan Sultans); Imad Wasim (Karachi Kings); Mohammad Haris (Peshawar Zalmi); Muhammad Nawaz (Quetta Gladiators); Muhammad Wasim Jnr (Islamabad United); Naseem Shah (Quetta Gladiators); Saim Ayub (Peshawar Zalmi) and Shan Masood (Multan Sultans); Tayyab Tahir (Karachi Kings); Zaman Khan (Lahore Qalandars).

Reserve players: Abrar Ahmed (Islamabad United), Haseebullah (Peshawar Zalmi) and Usama Mir (Multan Sultans).

Share this post
Our blogs